Brokers from other provinces: Everything you need to know to practice in Québec

Are you an agency executive officer or a real estate broker from another province and now wish to practice in Québec? Here is how:

The real estate brokerage is a professional activity supervised by the Organisme d’autoréglementation du courtage immobilier du Québec (OACIQ), under the Québec Real Estate Brokerage Act and its regulations.1

In order to promote the mobility of workers practicing outside of Québec, the OACIQ can issue licences to individuals who are qualified and authorized to engage in brokerage transactions (within the meaning of section 1 of the Real Estate Brokerage Act) in a province, State or territory for which a mutual recognition agreement of professional skills has been concluded between its government and that of Québec.

What’s worker mobility?

It is a principle by means of which the qualifications of individuals moving from one province to another are recognized.

Attention: A person who lives in the province of Québec and obtains a licence from another province to avoid the application of the general terms and conditions for licence issuance set out in the Real Estate Brokerage Act is not considered in a labour mobility situation and cannot benefit from the agreements concluded in this area.

Obtaining an OACIQ licence

If you hold a valid real estate broker’s licence or an agency executive officer’s licence in another province at the time of application, an equivalent licence in the same field of practice can be issued in Québec if:

For more information, please contact the Certification Department at 450-462-9800 or 1-800-440-7170, or by email at

You are a Québec broker wishing to practice in another province?

Please check with the body of the province concerned:

Alberta: The Real Estate Council of Alberta
British Columbia: The Real Estate Council of British Columbia
Prince Edward Island: P.E.I. Real Estate Association and the Government
Manitoba: La Commission des valeurs mobilières (The Manitoba Securities Commission)
New-Brunswick: New Brunswick Real Estate Association
Nova Scotia: Nova Scotia Real Estate Commission
Ontario: RECO (Real Estate Council of Ontario)
Saskatchewan: Saskatchewan Real Estate Commission
Newfoundland and Labrador: Service Newfoundland
Yukon: Government


1 For more information on the regulatory framework, please read the Regulation respecting the issue of broker’s and agency licences, chap. 1, section 1, paragraph 9, available on the Act, By-laws and Regulations page.


Last updated on: June 11, 2020
Reference number: 204980