Published on: October 11, 2016
Reference number: 202488

Inspection Committee

Under the Act, the OACIQ is required to create an Inspection Committee. It is made up of executive officers of real estate or mortgage agencies and of brokers acting on their own account. However, these brokers do not personally conduct inspections, but rather use the services of inspectors.

Following a protocol, the Inspection Committee meets and inspectors present their inspection reports regarding brokers and agency executive officers who require various interventions. The committee may also recommend to inspected brokers and agency executive officers any appropriate recommendation and have them sign an undertaking to comply with a section of the Act or one of its regulations. In addition, it may require an agency executive officer or a broker to successfully attend a course or other education activity. If the committee finds that a violation to the Act or a regulation has been committed, it notifies the syndic immediately.

The Inspection Committee is made up of the following members:

  • Laurent N. Benarrous, Avison Young Québec inc. (Chairman)
  • Diane Bourbonnière, broker acting on her own account
  • Hugo Leroux, Hypotheca agence hypothécaire inc.
  • Laaziza Ajani, L'Alliance immobilière inc.
  • Nathalie Campagna, RE/MAX Plus inc.